Biography Alipio C Neto

Alípio Carvalho Neto was born in Floresta, Sertão of Pernambuco, Brazil.

Alípio initiated his musical studies first at home with his father, then at the Music School of Brasília (EMB). Based in Rapolano Terme (Siena), he received in 2014 his Ph.D. with highest honors in Music History, Sciences and Techniques (Storia, Scienze e Tecniche della Musica) from the University of Rome 2 Tor Vergata with his thesis La Musica Libera di Giancarlo Schiaffini (The Free Music of Giancarlo Schiaffini). In his dissertation he analyzes several unexplored topics related to the relationship between composition and improvisation. He examined the question of freedom in music from the perspective of Hannah Arendt’s theory of free action. In 2017, Alípio published with Giancarlo Schiaffini Immaginare la musica (Milano: Auditorium), where he curated the analysis of Schiaffini’s compositions.

He also has a Master Degree in Literary Theory (Federal University of Pernambuco – UFPE / University of Évora). He moved in 1997 to Portugal where he was awarded scholarships by the Cultural Institute of Macao and the Ministry of Culture of Brazil (Bolsa Virtuose) to research in the areas of music and literature at the University of Évora, with a special focus on the Chinese and the Arabic poetics.

He released numerous albums as a leader or co-leader and many as a sideman that were highly acclaimed by international audiences and critics. Alípio is an active performer, composer, improviser, poet, educator, and scholar dedicated to Interdisciplinary Music Studies. He collaborates with various intermedia and transdisciplinary projects, including contemporary and electronic music ensembles, silent film music, dance, theatre, and visual artists.

Alípio pays special attention to the relationship among musicology-ethnomusicology, literature, philosophy of improvisation, science, and aesthetics of music. His poems were published by Editions Jean-Fabien G. Phinera (Paris), and in many poetry journals and literary magazines.

He has collaborated, performed and recorded with several artists, orchestras and ensembles such as:

  • Armando Lôbo
  • Moisés de Araújo Alves
  • Pedro Euzébio
  • Herb Robertson
  • Ken Filiano
  • Michael T. A. Thompson
  • Clarence Becton
  • Zlatko Kaučič
  • Brian Groder
  • Giorgio Pacorig
  • Stefano Giust
  • Silvia Bolognesi
  • Luiz Moretto
  • Charlie Kohlhase
  • Bill Lowe
  • Curt Newton
  • Daniel Rosenthal
  • Sei Miguel
  • Orlando Legname
  • Torbjörn Zetterberg
  • Joakim Rolandson
  • Johannes Krieger
  • Carlos Zíngaro
  • Scott Fields
  • Patrick Brennan
  • Jean-Marc Charmier
  • Ben Stapp
  • Greg Burk
  • Felix Wagner
  • Angelo Olivieri
  • Carlos Barretto
  • Adam Lane
  • Francesco Lo Cascio


  • Michael Attias
  • Roberto Raciti
  • Thelmo Cristovam
  • Gregg Moore
  • Leslie Dalaba
  • Marcio Silva
  • Michael Moore
  • Eugenio Colombo
  • Giancarlo Schiaffini
  • Alvin Curran
  • Val Jeanty
  • Roberto Bellatalla
  • Sandro Satta
  • Alex Maguire
  • Yoram Rosilio
  • Fred Lyra
  • Hugo Medeiros
  • Luciano Emerson
  • Bruno Vitorino
  • Marco Quaresimin
  • Bruno Zoia
  • Ezio Peccheneda
  • Ernesto Rodrigues
  • Dennis González
  • Richard Nunns
  • Elio Martusciello
  • Iato Orchestra
  • Mike Cooper
  • Masa Kamaguchi
  • Space Ensemble
  • VGO Variable Geometry Orchestra
  • Federico Ughi
  • João Lobo
  • Ermanno Baron
  • Fabrizio Spera
  • Stefano Cogolo
  • Sergio Armaroli
  • Marco Ariano
  • Mark Sanders
  • Ravish Momin
  • Zsolt Sárvári Kovács

Among others.